Monday, July 11, 2016

Eight SNRE students receive scholarships

Eight outstanding undergraduate students with the School of Natural Resources and Extension will receive scholarships for the 2016-2017 academic year. 

The scholarships and their recipients included:

Crisp Scholarship: Kimberly Diamond, Jessica Herzog, Jenny King and Trevor Schoening all will receive $2,475. The scholarship is awarded to undergraduate and graduate SNRE students.

Paul and Flora Greimann Memorial Scholarship: Zoe Marshall received $700. The scholarship is awarded to any SNRE major, but students studying agriculture are preferred.

Richard E. Lee Scholarship: Jessica Landry will receive $5,500. The scholarship alternates between students studying environmental science at SNRE and students with the UAF College of Engineering and Mines.

Bonita J. Neiland Scholarship: Kelly Schmitz will receive $800. The scholarship is awarded to students in the natural resources management degree program who study the biophysical aspects of forestry or agriculture, or whose studies emphasize biology or ecology. The scholarship honors Dr. Neiland, who was director of instruction and taught natural resources management  and botany at what was then known as the School of Agriculture and Land Resources Management.

Liu Huang Chou Scholarship: Samantha Knutson will receive $500. The scholarship is awarded to students who study plant pathology, plant biology or agriculture.

No comments: